Bauska Castle

bauska-bandeau

General overview

Two strategic interventions created physical access to the castle and its new museum for visitors with mobility difficulties, while substantially preserving historic authenticity and heritage attractiveness.  The project also demonstrates how European funding criteria can be a lever for inclusive design. Beyond the project, funding criteria have supported discussion nationally about the accessibility of protected heritage sites.

Main access interventions  :

  1. Construction of a ramp to the main entry
  2. Installation of a lift inside the castle

Location :

Bauska, Latvia, approx. 44 miles (70 kms ) south of Riga.

Description :

  • ruins of a fortress built in 15th century by the order of the Livonian knights
  • a fortified castle erected at the end of 16th century by the dukes of Courland
  • a new museum built inside the castle as part of a major renovation and development programme (2006-2008)

Find out more :

Challenges

Heritage significance and attractiveness

  • classed an architectural and archeological monument of national importance
  • the only example of 15th-17th century military architecture of its kind in Latvia
  • the only medieval fortress in Latvia with an arsenal
  • a rare example of Mannerist trompe-l’oeil mural décoration, sgrafitto style
  • poetic atmosphere of the fortress ruins
  • situated in a nature reserve classed of European importance and on the territory of the old protected town of Bauska
  • national prize for best restoration (2002)
  • membership of the “Best in Heritage Excellence Club” by the European Association of Cultural Heritage (2006)
  • 37000 visitors per year and 55000 online (2013, for a country of 2 million inhabitants)Problèmes d’accessibilité avant travaux

Access challenges

  • inaccessible castle entry
  • inaccessible upper floors
  • uneven pathways

Approach

  • access works were planned as part of a vast programme of restoration and enhancement of the castle, supported e.g. by the European  Regional Development Fund ERAF (2006-2008, 2011-2014). Accessibility of the built environment is a funding condition of European funds.
  • the ambition to preserve the heritage quality of a unique place was at the heart of the project. Access facilities were thus considered as “atypical elements”, or “alien elements” the presence of which has to remain discreet.

Project

Creation of ramps

Only one solution presented itself for an accessible entrance: the creation of a ramp in the courtyard of the castle on the side of the flight of stairs with the smallest drop in height. Creating a new entrance for all on the outer façade would simply have been impossible (sizeable alterations and works would have been involved; the atmospheric effect of suddenly entering the courtyard would have been lost). The ramp runs the walls of the castle façade left to the entry. A small supporting wall in front of the ramp enables its integration. Built with traditional materials and methods, the wall represents a compromise which preserves the historic atmosphere.

Short portable ramps are installed on the ground floor and the upper floors to compensate for the differences in height at the door ledges.

Plan des aménagements d'accessibilité

1 – Plan with the access features: the external ramp and the et l’integration of the lift.

Façade du château et entrée du musée.La rampe et son muret.

2 – Facade of the castle and the entry to the museum

3 – The  ramp and its supporting wall

Integration of the lift

The installation of a lift to provide access to the upper floors required a more sizeable intervention. It was necessary, indeed, to shrink the dimensions of one room on each floor. It was imperative to devise a technical solution, that  would avoid an intervention on the roof. The castle being small, no signage has been installed to inform about the lift. Staff is tasked with informing visitors who might need to use the lift of its existence.

La rampe donne accès au rez-de chaussée, à la billetterie et à l'ascenseur.Vue de l'ascenseur.

4 – The ramp provides access to the ground-floor, the ticket desk and the lift 5 –

5 – Picture of the lift

Conclusion

Accessible pathways will be created during the third phase of the restoration programme to widen accessibility. These will allow a comfortable discovery of the poetic ruins of the adjacent fortress and access to the outdoor bar.

The choice of discreet interventions is most often appropriate for sites with a strong heritage atmosphere. Discretion raises questions however, for example about visibility and signage for visitors with a visual impairment. If signposting can be taken care of by  staff in smaller sites, access information online and on promotional materials cannot be dispensed with.

Players and processes

Players

  • Client : the administration of Bauska Castle and the Museum of Bauska Castle
  • Project Manager: architect Ināra Caunīte (Latvia) and Miloslav Hanzl (Czech Republic)
  • Experts : Ina Līne, exhibition manager

Processes

To respond to the accessibility challenge, the team gained knowledge of accessibility regulations for the built environment and some earlier access projects

Pictures and maps

Château de Bauska

Présentation générale
Deux interventions stratégiques (entrée et ascenseur) ont permis la mise en accessibilité du château et de son nouveau musée pour les visiteurs à mobilité réduite, en conservant très largement l’authenticité historique et l’attrait du lieu. Ce projet montre par ailleurs comment les critères de financement des fonds européens, qui ont permis de soutenir le projet, sont devenus un levier pour la conception universelle. En effet, au-delà du projet, les conditions de ce financement ont permis d’accompagner une réflexion à l’échelle nationale sur l’accessibilité du cadre bâti ancien protégé.

Principales interventions d’accessibilité :

  1. Construction d’une rampe au niveau de l’entrée principale et dans les espaces intérieurs
  2. Mise en place d’un ascenseur à l’intérieur du château

Situation géographique :

Bauska, Lettonie, à environ 70 Kms au Sud de Riga.

Description des installations :

  • une forteresse en ruine construite au 15ème siècle par l’ordre des chevaliers de Livonie
  • un château fort érigé à la fin du 16ème siècle par les ducs de Courlande
  • un nouveau musée créé à l’intérieur du château fort dans le cadre d’un programme de développement et de rénovation majeur (2006-2008)

Pour aller plus loin :

Enjeux du site

Valeur patrimoniale et attractivité

  • classé monument d’architecture et monument archéologique d’importance nationale
  • l’unique exemple d’architecture militaire des 15e-17e siècles de ce type en Lettonie
  • l’unique forteresse médiévale en Lettonie avec arsenal
  • rare exemple de décoration murale maniériste en trompe l’œil, style sgrafitto
  • ambiance poétique des ruines de la forteresse
  • situé dans une réserve naturelle classée d’importance européenne, et sur le territoire dans la vieille ville de Bauska, protégée
  • prix national de la meilleure restauration (2002)
  • admis en 2006 au « Best in Heritage Excellence Club », par l’Association Européenne du Patrimoine Culturel
  • 37000 visiteurs par an et 55000 en ligne (2013, pour un pays de 2 millions d’habitants)

Problèmes d’accessibilité avant travaux

  • l’entrée du château, qui allait accueillir un nouveau musée, était inaccessible
  • les étages étaient inaccessibles
  • les cheminements étaient inégaux

Stratégies d’intervention

  • la mise en accessibilité a été planifiée dans le cadre d’un vaste programme de restauration et de valorisation du château, soutenu notamment par le Fond Européen de Développement Régional ERAF (2006-2008, 2011-2014). L’accessibilité du cadre bâti est une condition de financement des fonds européens.
  • le souci de préserver la qualité patrimoniale d’un lieu unique était au centre du projet. Ainsi, les dispositifs d’accessibilité ont-ils été considérés comme « éléments atypiques », voir « étrangers » dont la présence doit rester discrète.

Projet

La création de rampes d’accès

Pour rendre accessible l’entrée du château, une seule solution se présentait : la création d’une rampe dans la cour du château, du côté de l’escalier avec le plus petit dénivelé. La création d’une nouvelle entrée pour tous sur la façade extérieure n’était pas envisageable (les travaux auraient été considérables et auraient modifié le parcours de visite et l’ambiance prégnante de l’arrivée soudaine dans la cour). La rampe a été substituée à la partie gauche des escaliers et longe la façade du château. Un muret de soutien en pierre permet de gérer l’intégration de la rampe. Construite en matériaux et selon de techniques traditionnelles, elle représente un compromis qui préserve l’ambiance historique.

Au rez-de-chaussée et aux étages, il est fait usage de rampes amovibles installées pour compenser des différences de niveau, notamment au niveau des seuils.

Plan des aménagements d'accessibilité

1 – Plan des aménagements d’accessibilité : la rampe extérieure et l’intégration de l’ascenseur.

Façade du château et entrée du musée.La rampe et son muret.

2 – Façade du château et entrée du musée.

3 – La rampe et son muret.

L’intégration de l’ascenseur

La création de l’ascenseur pour rendre accessible les étages où se poursuit l’exposition a exigé une intervention plus lourde. En effet, il a fallu réduire les dimensions d’une pièce sur chaque étage. Il était impératif de trouver une solution technique qui ne requiert aucune intervention sur le toit. La présence de l’ascenseur est très discrète. La surface du château étant réduite, il n’est pas signalé. Le personnel a pour tâche d’informer les visiteurs qui en auraient besoin de l’existence de l’ascenseur.

La rampe donne accès au rez-de chaussée, à la billetterie et à l'ascenseur.Vue de l'ascenseur.

4 – La rampe donne accès au rez-de chaussée, à la billetterie et à l’ascenseur.

5 – Vue de l’ascenseur.

Conclusion

Au-delà des aménagements réalisés, des cheminements accessibles vont être aménagés lors d’une troisième phase de restauration. Ceux-ci permettront une découverte confortable des poétiques ruines de la forteresse et l’accès à la buvette.

Le parti pris d’interventions discrètes est le plus souvent judicieux pour des lieux avec une forte ambiance patrimoniale. Il soulève cependant des problèmes, notamment celui de la visibilité et de la signalétique pour les visiteurs en situation de handicap visuel. Enfin, si dans des lieux petits, la gestion de la signalétique peut-être prise en charge par un personnel formé, une information sur l’accessibilité écrite en ligne et sur les matériaux de promotion est impérative.

Acteurs et processus de projet

Acteurs

  • Maître d’ouvrage : Administration du Château Bauska et Musée du Château de Bauska
  • Maître d’œuvre : l’architecte Ināra Caunīte (Lettonie) and Miloslav Hanzl (République Tchèque)
  • Experts : Ina Līne, responsable des expositions

Processus de projet

• Pour répondre au défi de l’accessibilité, l’équipe s’est penchée sur les textes réglementaires de l’accessibilité du cadre bâti et quelques projets d’accessibilité antérieurs.

Photographies et plans