Château de Versailles

General overview

Every space that is open to the public in this vast estate of 2000 acres (800 hectares) is the objet of an analysis and reflection on the conditions of access for all. This approach shapes the development of programmes of work aimed at providing best conditions of access for all. However, of all groups of people with disabilities, access for people with mobility difficulties requires the most architectural transformations : thus the immediate surroundings and the inside of the château, the gardens, as well as the Trianon castles have seen changes as part of a comprehensive programme of works.

Principal access interventions :

  1. the immediate surroundings and the inside of the castle
  2. the challenges presented by the gardens and the Trianon castles
  3. the organisation of seamless access journeys, in partnership with local authorities

Location :

  • Île de France region, 16 km (10 miles) West of Paris

Description :

This public institution with castle, museum and the national estate of Versailles occupies a 2000 acres (800 hectares) wide space. It comprises the castle, which is classed a UNESCO World Heritage site, the parc adjacent to the castle, a managed forest and the estate surrounding the Grand and Petit Trianon castles.

Find out more :

Challenges

Heritage significance and attractiveness

  • the castle is classed a UNESCO World Heritage site
  • the castle is classed a national Monuments Historiques
  • castle of the Kings of France Louis XIV to Louis XVI, a symbol of the Grand Siècle (17th Century, known as “Grand Century”) and of French art
  • tourist attractiveness : 5,9 million visitors (2010)

Access challenges

  • the immediate surroundings: uncomfortable, dangerous and inaccessible pavings before the works started
  • the Cour d’Honneur (the extensive front court) is not level
  • the parc of the Château de Versailles presents significant access challenges with numerous slopes and stairs
  • the interior circulations

Approach

A holistic approach

A vast programme of restoration and of upgrading of facilities was started in 2003. Accessibility for all publics is a major objective of this project called Grand Versailles (2003-2020).

Important restoration and renovation works have been undertaken which provide access for people with disabilities, in particular for people with mobility difficulties: accessibility is not seen as separate or additional, but as part and parcel of the development plan for the Grand Versailles and access for all publics.

A reversible et evolving project

Most access works undertaken at the public institution of the castle, the museum and the estate of Versailles have reversibility as a main underlying principle, as a response to the requirements of heritage preservation. The fitting of lifts where this proves necessary is a rare exception.

Accessible heritage content

Heritage interpretation programmes and resources have been put in place for several groups of disabled people.

Project

The immediate vicinity and the inside of the castle

The surroundings

Entry to Versailles castle is via the Cour d’Honneur, a courtyard. This is paved with the famous Versailles pavement stones, which are an integral part of the valorisation of the monument. An alley has been created with new pavement stones made of the same matérial, but with less than 0.39 inches (1cm) variation in surface height. This new alley way is today used by the majority of visitors. It has also enabled the creation of an axis which underlines the classical and symmetrical architecture of the castle.

Some access challenges have been resolved by coming back to some historical features. The upper part of the Cour d’Honneur, for example, was restored to its original level. A gain in height of 23.6 inches (60 cm) was achieved and, as a result, the porches of the Dufour and Gabriel pavilions could be removed. There is thus level access to the castle, as was the case at the time of its construction.

L’allée centrale de la Cour d’Honneur avant restauration L’allée centrale de la Cour d’Honneur après restauration

The Ministers’ wing – where the reception area starts

These two wings, which are not level, are accessed by wooden ramps at the spots where height difference is lowest. The ramps have a stone colour hue and are reversible : the old stairs have been preserved underneath. Accessible toilet blocks have been installed close by to the ramps.

Gabriel pavilion – the main entry

Pavilion Gabriel, the entry chosen by most visitors with mobility difficulties, has seen many works. The internal lay-out has been entirely altered and a change in height of 25.6 inches (70 cm) became manageable through the installation of a platform lift. This has been specially designed to harmonise optimally with the interior spaces. There is also temporary reception building. This has been fitted with a ramp that provides level access to the Royal Court.

Interior circulations

Inside, the two main levels are accessible : the ground floor (which leads to the gardens) and the first floor. The existing lifts leading to these two floors are not always positioned along the visitors’ journey. The installation of new lifts in the immediate vicinity of staircases is an objective of the development plan for the Grand Versailles and will allow a more fluid visit. Works are planned in the North and South wings.

Vue de la rampe d'accès à l'espace de pré-accueil dans les ailes des ministresVue de la rampe d'accès à l'espace d’accueil du pavillon provisoireVue de l'élévateur intégré dans le Pavillon Gabriel pour combler la différence de niveau

These access improvements are not designed for one visitor group only : they benefit families with push chairs, people wearing high heel shoes and older people. They widen access for the public.

Access challenges presented by the parc and the Trianon castles

The parc

It is currently not possible to make the entire parc accessible : there are important differences of height and numerous stairs. It has therefore been considered preferable to focus instead on the creation of accessible walking trails starting at sign-posted accessible parking spaces.

Yet, there is one exception. Thanks to a sponsor, a platform lift has been put in place from which to reach the flowerbeds to the North. It has a unique design which blends perfectly with the park and its heritage surroundings. Accessible pathways designed for access and comfortable discovery have been created in the remainder of the parc, with the objective of making all its copses accessible. Four accessible walks are on offer to date. A system of signage has been created which indicates the level of difficulty presented by the walks.

Motorised transport is also available. A small and accessible train takes visitors up to Marie-Antoinette’s estate. Electrical cars are available for rent.

Vue de l'élévateur permettant d’accéder au parterre du NordPlan d’un des circuits de visite du parc proposés aux visiteurs à mobilité réduite

The Trianon castles

This vast estate comprises two castles, a parc, an English style garden and the Queen’s hamlet. As for the outdoor spaces, the project consists in the creation of several accessible walking trails. These are clearly indicated and visitors with mobility difficulties are sign-posted to easy to use and safe paths.

The Petit and Grand Trianon can be reached via simple, reversible low cost ramps. The apartments of the Grand Trianon are accessible to visitors with mobility difficulties. Owing to conservation requirements only the ground floor of the Petit Trianon is accessible for wheelchair users. With the help of a sponsor, a multi-media space was installed on the ground floor. There, visitors can enjoy a virtual tour of the first floor and general information.

Des rampes réversibles ont été installées au Petit et au Grand Trianon.Au rez-de-chaussée du Petit Trianon, une salle multimédia accessible propose une visite virtuelle de l’étage du châeau.

Organising a seamless access journey in partnership with local authorities

The Place d’Armes situated downhill from the castle has seen significant restoration works and has become entirely accessible and affords improved visitor comfort. The pedestrian walkways have been transformed : the gravelled surface has been replaced by a smooth and more comfortable concrete surface. Lateral signage, as well as luminous signage has been installed for visually impaired visitors to compensate for low level lighting. Information panels have been strategically placed along the visitors’ route.

Visitors with disabilities can go by car straight to the Cour d’Honneur, close to the entry for individual visitors. As long as places are available, parking is allowed.

To make sure the visitors’ access journeys are seamless, access works are undertaken in collaboration with the town of Versailles, notably from the Versailles Rive Gauche station, which is the most used by castle’s audiences.

Avenue Rockefeller et place d’Armes avec la statue de Louis XIV après restauration

“A accessible user journey presents many challenges. If one obstacle remains, the challenge is not entirely met. It is vital that all players are involved when addressing transportation, in particular the local authority.” Daniel Sancho, Director of heritage and gardens of the castle of Versailles.

Players and processes

Players

  • Client: the public institution of the castle, museum and national estate of Versailles
  • Project manager : Frédéric Didier, chief architect of the Historic Monuments

Processes

  • Holistic approach integrated within the development plan of project of the Grand Versailles (2003-2020)
  • Historical research and the valorisation of heritage for the benefit of all audiences
  • Integration of accessible heritage interpretation as part of visitor services

Château de Versailles

versailles

Présentation générale

Sur ce vaste domaine de 800 hectares, chacun des espaces accessibles au public fait l’objet d’une analyse et d’une réflexion concernant les conditions d’accessibilité à tous. Cette démarche conditionne l’élaboration de programmes de travaux destinés à faciliter la visite de tous les publics. Toutefois, parmi les différents types de handicaps, le handicap moteur est celui qui nécessite le plus de transformations architecturales : ainsi les abords immédiats et l’intérieur du château, le parc, ou encore les châteaux de Trianon ont fait l’objet de modifications dans le cadre de cette réflexion globale.

Principales interventions d’accessibilité :

  1. Les abords immédiats et l’intérieur du château
  2. Les problématiques du parc et des châteaux de Trianon
  3. Organiser la chaîne du déplacement continu en partenariat avec les collectivités locales

Situation géographique :

  • En région Île de France, à 16 km à l’Ouest de Paris.

Description des installations :

L’Etablissement public du château, du musée et du domaine national de Versailles occupe un espace très vaste de 800 hectares. Il comprend le château, classé au patrimoine mondial de l’humanité, le parc accolé au château, un parc forestier et le domaine autour des châteaux du Grand et du Petit Trianon.

Fiche de synthèse :

Pour aller plus loin :

Enjeux du site

Valeur patrimoniale et attractivité

  • le château est classé au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO
  • le château est classé aux Monuments Historiques
  • château des rois de France Louis XIV à Louis XVI, symbole du 17ème siècle et de l’art français
  • attractivité touristique: 5,9 millions de visiteurs (2010)

Problèmes d’accessibilité

  • les environs immédiats: revêtement de sol inconfortable, dangereux et inaccessible
  • la Cour d’Honneur n’est pas au niveau
  • le parc du château de Versailles présente de nombreuses pentes et escaliers
  • les circulations intérieures ne sont pas accessibles

Stratégie d’intervention

Une approche globale

Dès 2003, un vaste programme de restauration et d’équipement a été adopté au château de Versailles. Il s’agit du projet Grand Versailles (2003-2020) dont l’accessibilité à tous les publics constitue un enjeu majeur.

D’importants travaux de restauration et de rénovation concernant l’accueil des personnes handicapées, plus particulièrement tournés vers le handicap moteur, ont été effectués : l’accessibilité est traitée, non pas comme un objet à part, mais directement en lien avec le schéma directeur du Grand Versailles et l’accueil de tous les publics.

Un projet évolutif et réversible

La plupart des projets de mise en accessibilité de l’Etablissement public du château, du musée et du domaine national de Versailles ont comme grand principe la réversibilité dans un souci de préservation du patrimoine. Une des rares exceptions faites à ce principe est l’installation d’ascenseurs quand cela est nécessaire.

Accessibilité des contenus

Si le travail sur le handicap moteur est celui qui engendre le plus de choix architecturaux, le château s’attache également à prendre en compte les autres types de handicap dans sa volonté de mise en accessibilité du château comme du domaine de Versailles. Des outils de médiations sont d’ores et déjà proposés pour faciliter la visite de tous.

Projet

Les abords immédiats et l’intérieur du château

Les abords

Le visiteur découvre le château par la Cour d’Honneur. Celle-ci est recouverte des célèbres pavés de Versailles qui font partie intégrante de la mise en valeur du monument. Une allée a été créée avec des nouveaux pavés, conçus dans le même matériau, et avec un taux de tolérance de moins de 1 cm sur la surface supérieure. Cette nouvelle allée, aujourd’hui empruntée par la majorité des visiteurs, a également permis de créer un point axial qui souligne l’architecture classique et symétrique du château.

La problématique de l’accès au château a également été résolue grâce à un retour à certaines dispositions d’origine. Toute la partie haute de la Cour d’Honneur a été remise à son niveau d’origine, permettant ainsi de gagner environ 60 cm de hauteur et de supprimer les perrons des Pavillons Dufour et Gabriel. L’accès au château est donc aménagé de plain-pied, comme c’était le cas au moment de sa construction.

L’allée centrale de la Cour d’Honneur avant restauration L’allée centrale de la Cour d’Honneur après restauration

Les ailes des Ministres – le pré-accueil

Ces deux ailes n’étant pas de plain-pied, des rampes en bois ont été créées à l’emplacement où la différence de niveau est la plus faible. Ces dernières ont pris la teinte de la pierre et sont réversibles : le perron ancien est conservé en dessous. Des blocs sanitaires accessibles ont été aménagés à proximité des rampes.

Le Pavillon Gabriel – l’entrée principale

L’entrée privilégiée pour les visiteurs à mobilité réduite est celle du Pavillon Gabriel qui a fait l’objet de nombreux travaux. La disposition intérieure a entièrement été revue et la rupture de niveau de 70 cm a été gérée grâce à la création d’un élévateur spécialement dessiné pour s’intégrer au mieux aux espaces intérieurs. Du côté du pavillon d’accès provisoire, une rampe permet d’accéder à la cour royale de plain-pied.

Les circulations intérieures

A l’intérieur, les deux niveaux principaux sont ouverts à la visite : le rez-de-jardin et le premier étage. Les ascenseurs qui desservent ces deux niveaux ne sont pas toujours positionnés suivant le parcours de visite. L’objectif du schéma directeur du Grand Versailles est donc d’implanter de nouveaux ascenseurs à proximité des escaliers pour une plus grande cohérence du parcours. Des travaux à cet effet sont prévus dans l’Aile Nord et dans l’Aile du Midi.

Vue de la rampe d'accès à l'espace de pré-accueil dans les ailes des ministresVue de la rampe d'accès à l'espace d’accueil du pavillon provisoireVue de l'élévateur intégré dans le Pavillon Gabriel pour combler la différence de niveau

La mise en accessibilité n’intéresse pas seulement un public spécifique, elle profite aussi à un large public : familles avec poussette, personnes en talon aiguilles, personnes âgées… L’accessibilité revêt ici un caractère d’intérêt général.

Les problématiques du parc et des châteaux de Trianon

Le parc

Il n’est, à l’heure actuelle, pas envisageable de rendre tout le parc accessible : les dénivelés sont importants, les escaliers nombreux. Il a été jugé préférable, en conséquence, de travailler à la mise en place de circuits dédiés accessibles à partir de parkings signalés.

Il existe toutefois une exception à ce dispositif. En effet, grâce à un mécène, un élévateur a été mis en place pour accéder au parterre du Nord. Ce dispositif exceptionnel a été conçu de manière à se fondre dans le parc dans un respect total du patrimoine. Pour le reste du parc, des circuits spécialement conçus pour l’accessibilité et le confort de tous les visiteurs ont été créés, l’objectif étant à terme de rendre tous les bosquets accessibles. Quatre promenades sont aujourd’hui proposées. Elles font l’objet d’un balisage particulier et sont classées en fonction de leur difficulté.

En plus de ces circuits de promenade, des circuits motorisés sont également proposés. Un petit train accessible permet de rejoindre de Domaine de Marie-Antoinette. Des voitures électriques sont aussi disponibles à la location.

Vue de l'élévateur permettant d’accéder au parterre du NordPlan d’un des circuits de visite du parc proposés aux visiteurs à mobilité réduite

Les châteaux de Trianon

Ce vaste domaine est composé de deux châteaux, d’un parc, d’un jardin à l’anglaise et du hameau de la Reine. Pour les espaces extérieurs, le projet consiste, comme pour le parc du château, en la mise en place de différents circuits accessibles. Ces circuits sont clairement identifiées et les visiteurs à mobilité réduite sont orientés vers des chemins praticables et sécurisés.

L’accès au Petit et au Grand Trianon est possible grâce à l’installation de rampes simples, peu coûteuses et réversibles. Les appartements du Grand Trianon sont accessibles aux visiteurs à mobilité réduite. En revanche, pour des raisons de conservation, seul le rez-de-chaussée du Petit Trianon est accessible aux personnes en fauteuil. Avec l’aide d’un mécène, une salle multimédia a été créée au rez-de-chaussée. Elle permet d’obtenir des informations générales sur le monument et d’effectuer une visite virtuelle du premier étage.

Des rampes réversibles ont été installées au Petit et au Grand Trianon.Au rez-de-chaussée du Petit Trianon, une salle multimédia accessible propose une visite virtuelle de l’étage du châeau.

Organiser la chaîne du déplacement continu en partenariat avec les collectivités locales

La place d’Armes située en amont du château a fait l’objet de gros travaux de restauration pour la rendre entièrement accessible et améliorer le confort de tous les visiteurs. Les cheminements piétons ont été repensés: le sol en gravillon a été remplacé par un sol en béton désactivé, plus lisse et plus confortable. Pour les personnes déficientes visuelles, un balisage latéral a été créé ainsi qu’une signalisation lumineuse chargée de compenser le déficit d’éclairage. Des panneaux d’informations ont été placés de manière stratégique le long du parcours du visiteur.

Pour éviter des cheminements piétons trop longs, les visiteurs en situation de handicap peuvent se faire déposer en véhicule directement dans la Cour d’Honneur, à proximité de l’entrée des visiteurs individuels. En fonction des places disponibles, il est également possible de stationner à cet endroit.

Afin de ne pas créer de rupture dans la chaîne du déplacement, des travaux de mise en accessibilité sont entrepris en concertation avec la Ville de Versailles afin de faciliter le cheminement de tous les visiteurs depuis les différents points d’accès, notamment depuis la gare de Versailles Rive Gauche, la plus empruntée par le public du château.

Avenue Rockefeller et place d’Armes avec la statue de Louis XIV après restauration

«On est face à une problématique de chaîne de déplacements. S’il manque un maillon, le pari n’est pas complètement gagné. Il faut associer l’ensemble des acteurs sur les problématiques de transports, notamment la Ville» Daniel Sancho, directeur du patrimoine et des jardins du Château de Versailles.

Acteurs et processus de projet

Acteurs

  • Maîtrise d’ouvrage : établissement public du château, du musée et du domaine national de Versailles
  • Maîtrise d’œuvre : Frédéric Didier, architecte en chef des Monuments historiques

Processus de projet

  • Réflexion globale intégrée à l’échelle du schéma directeur du projet du Grand Versailles (2003-2020)
  • Recherche historique et valorisation patrimoniale au service d’une mise en accessibilité pour tous.
  • Intégration des outils de médiation pour compléter les dispositifs d’accessibilités

Photographies et plans