La station de métro Municipio de Naples

Municipio station exteriors rendering_1

General overview

The main purpose of the Art Stations is to preserve the crucial points of the urban transportation’s network from the anonymity and the homogeneity that usually characterizes stations, airports, highways.

The architectures were designed by internationally famous designers such as Àlvaro Siza, Eduardo Souto de Moura, Dominique Perrault, Oscar Tusquets, Karim Rashid, Gae Aulenti, Alessandro Mendini.

Each station has its own stylistic features and was designed specifically for the area it would serve. The designers were also assigned the task of redesigning the surrounding street system and furniture, bringing to new life areas previously abandoned and so doing a strong social requalification and aesthetic rehabilitation were brought about in large areas of the urban fabric.

At the same time, under the artistic coordination by Achille Bonito Oliva, more than 150 works of art by 80 protagonists of contemporary art have been placed inside and outside the stations. There are site-specific paintings, sculptures, mosaics, ceramics, photographs and installations directly commissioned to internationally famous artists.

The Metro project has had also the distinction of setting in motion a huge time machine. More than 250 million Euro has been spent on archaeology, leading to the discovery of the ancient Parthenope port (Municipio station), with its over 30-metre-long ships, as well as the place where the Olympics were relocated (Duomo station) to in the 1st century AD. This has been a journey through time which, from Angevin bastions, to findings from the Aragonese period, takes us through to the present day.

The Municipio station project had to relate with the Castelnuovo foundations and the incredible findings by archaeological researches.

Principal access interventions :

Municipio station is equipped with escalators and elevators; with tactile walking surface indicators and maps for blind and partially sighted persons. All elevators have Braille and raised numerals and voice announcements (Italian and English).

Location :

  • Naples, Italy

Description :

The latest opening of Line 1 station is Municipio (City hall) station, in full service since June 2015, but still in a partial configuration. The station was deeply conflicted by incredible findings by archaeological research, this determined the choice of Álvaro Siza and Eduardo Souto De Moura, most famous Portuguese architects, of revealing ancient walls inside of station hallways. The large Municipio transit area will incorporate and showcase the exceptional archaeological finds unearthed during the excavation work for the station in one of the largest archaeological investigations of the last decade.

The antiquity unveiled by the excavations begins with the ancient port of Neapolis, which stood in a small inlet now buried under part of the present-day square. The excavations ass brought to light the sea bottom, sunken ships, a large wharf of the Augustan age, and traces of the occupation of the coast in the Hellenistic and Imperial ages. We continue with extraordinary remains of buildings of the Angevine period erected at the same time as Castelnuovo in the late thirteenth century, and the outer fortifications of the castle, built under king Alphonso V of Aragona and then the Spanish viceroys, with the towers of the Molo and the Incoronata.The latter is already visible today on the landing of the Line 1 station.

When work is complete, the Municipio station project will bring metro lines 1 and 6 together in one large transport hub. This new underground space will serve as a pedestrian link between the port and the historical area of the city, while urban planning at surface level will enhance the perspective axis from the Maritime Station at the Town Hall to the San Martino hill.The Fountain of Neptune, a large marble group created by the work of Domenico Fontana, Michelangelo Naccherino and Pietro Bernini up till the end of the 1500s and subsequently by Cosimo Fanzago, has already been relocated to the square in front of the Town Hall.

In Municipio station the constant dialogue between modern architecture and existing historical structures salvaged inside the station is the guiding theme of the project by the two Portuguese architects, Àlvaro Siza Viera and Eduardo Souto de Moura, featuring clean lines and skilful attention to finishings in lava stone and white plaster, in which the lessons of the great masters of the Modern movement are reflected in its geometric lines.

Municipio station contains a large contemporary art installation: Passages by Michal Rovner (Tel Aviv, 1957), a “video-fresco” – as defined by Achille Bonito Oliva, artistic coordinator of the Art Stations – in which images from five high-precision projectors blend with images drawn in pastel and painted with watercolours by the artist directly onto the long, white wall of the atrium (37.70m x 4.00m).

Author of the article:

Maria Corbi, Gestione Patrimonio Artistico, ANM Azienda Napoletana Mobilità spa     

Acknowledgement:

This text has been compiled by the use of several sources and informants.  We would like to thank, Sabatino De Stefano, Ufficio Opere Civili / Esercizio Metropolitane, ANM Azienda Napoletana Mobilità and MN Metropolitana di Napoli SpA for their collaboration,   and Isabella Tiziana Steffan, at Studio Steffan – Progettazione e Ricerca, Milano for hinting the possibility to participate in this project, as well as her help with elaborating this text.

Photo credits:

Photographic archive of the ANM Azienda Napoletana Mobilità spa

Challenges

Heritage significance and attractiveness

The project of Stations of Art of Naples Metro has been promoted by the town administration to make the transportation environment more attractive, to put big areas of the city to its best use and to offer everybody the possibility to meet contemporary art and archaeology.

The Art Stations are one of the most interesting examples of decentralized museum spread over the urban area. A museum where works can be enjoyed by people in movement (150.000 passengers a day).This strategy aims to improve citizen’s quality of life, not only in physical but also in moral and intellectual terms, and to make the use of public transportation a more attractive experience.

Naples Metro has a dual purpose for the city: the first is its functionality, guaranteeing the majority of city residents access to the system within walking distance; and making the city’s main tourist sites accessible. The second relates to the metro as a feature able to attract tourists in its own right. It has an incredible cultural heritage, valued at 58 million Euro in artworks and architecture. Out of 1.33 million tourists per year who use line 1 to visit the city, approximately 176,000 visit the stations as cultural locations. This is even without having yet completed some extraordinary works, such as those of the Municipio station’s archaeological park. In order to support the aware enjoyment of the artistic heritage, ANM, the public transport company of Naples, has implemented actions aiming at the communication and teaching of art. Metro Art ANM’s educational service promotes this rich heritage of art, architecture and archaeology: guided tours, school activities, workshops for children, private tours. Museums, Schools, Universities and associations operating in the city participate in educational projects for students, citizens and tourists. The meeting with art and culture, if duly facilitated, can be an important factor in the increased perception of satisfaction and well-being, and a tool to improve relations with citizens and develop a dialogue with them, aiming at involving the whole urban context. Transportation, architecture and art: a multicultural crossing of the underground of Naples to move, but also to be more aesthetically aware

Access challenges

The stations of the Naples metro are also an example of engagement between architectural quality and accessibility.

The measures to guarantee the accessibility of the stations to the disabled persons are born together with the project of the stations.

Approach

The project integrate the different level of the square, at the ground level creating a one perspective that starts in front of San Giacomo Hall, at the underground level connecting the spaces of the station with the open air archaeological area and the sea.

Project

A global accessibility

The subway is in itself a structure born with the aim of improving the mobility of all the citizens, from those who have more difficulties to move. Therefore the stations are projected from the beginning with all the devices to guarantee accessibility. Architects and engineers have collaborated to integrate, from the project, the strategies and tools for accessibility with the style of architectural design. All Municipio station’s levels are equipped with escalators and elevators.

Station di Municipio : ascenseur (extérieur – niveau 1)

Station di Municipio : ascenseur (extérieur – niveau 1)

Elevators have Braille and raised numerals and voice announcements in Italian and English. All Municipio station’s levels are equipped with tactile paving and tactile maps to allow blind people to reach the trains and the exit easily and in all safety. Also the handrails of the fixed stairs are equipped with Braille and raised indications.

Signalétique tactile sur la main courante.

Signalétique tactile sur la main courante.

Thanks to the possibility of playing with the strong chromatic contrasts given by the use of materials like rubber, tactile paths are able to become a valid and useful visual guide for the partially sighted persons who preserve a minimum percentage of the functionality of their eyes. On the other hand, they are architectural and decorative elements as well, that contribute to the aspect of the station.

Station du Municipio : ancienne tour de l’Incoronata (XVIe siècle)

Station du Municipio : ancienne tour de l’Incoronata (XVIe siècle)

The tactile paths continue also on the roads outside the station and
even the tactile maps, so as to guide people to the entrance and exit.

Station du Municipo : plan en relief (extérieur)

Station du Municipo : plan en relief (extérieur)

A “museum-station”

The Municipio station is one of the 11 Art Stations along Line 1 (from Garibaldi to Piscinola) of the underground in Naples that are the result of a project by the municipal administration in Naples. They have inaugurated a new way of devising transit areas which combines architecture, art and archaeology. The work of Art Stations is globally celebrated for it’s beauty, but the stations of the Naples metro Line 1 are also an example of engagement between architectural quality and accessibility. The measures to guarantee the accessibility of the stations to the persons with disability are born together with the project of the stations.

Station du Municipo : passage vers la Line 6 (simulation)

Station du Municipo : passage vers la Line 6 (simulation)

The Municipio station project had to relate with the Castelnuovo foundations and the incredible findings by archaeological researches. The project integrate the different level of the square, at the ground level creating a one perspective that starts in front of San Giacomo Hall, at the underground level connecting the spaces of the station with the open air archaeological area and the sea. Architects and engineers have collaborated to integrate, from the project, the strategies and tools for accessibility with the style of architectural design. This project has been promoted by the town administration to make the transportation environment accessible and also more attractive, to put big areas of the city to its best use and to offer everybody the possibility to meet contemporary art and archaeology.

Players and processes

Players

  • Client : COMUNE DI NAPOLI (City of Naples)
  • Dealership for the planning and construction of the Line 1: MN S.p.A.
  • Architects: Álvaro Siza Vieira, Eduardo Souto de Moura
  • Artist: Michal Rovner
  • Companies :
    ASTALDI SpA
    COSTRUIRE SpA
    GRUPPO ICM SpA
    MOCCIA IRME SpA
    VIANINI Lavori SpA
    COSTRUZIONI GDL Srl
    IMPRESA PIZZAROTTI SpA

Processes

The dealership of the Municipality of Naples for the planning and construction of the Line 1 is MN Metropolitana di Napoli. The stations of Line 1 are projected from the beginning with all the devices to guarantee accessibility. Since 1971 the accessibility of metros in Italy is a requirement dictated by various national laws and also emphasized in a ruling by the Court of Cassation. In addition, UNI Ente Nazionale Italiano di Unificazione, produced in 2006 the UNI 11168-1 standard Accessibility to rapid mass transport systems/Design criteria for metros.

La station de métro Municipio de Naples

Municipio station exteriors rendering_1

Présentation générale

L’objectif des stations du métro de l’art était de préserver les principaux nœuds de transports de l’homogénéité caractéristique de tant d’arrêts de transport publics, aéroports et auto-routes. La réalisation des nouvelles stations fut confiée à des architectes de renom dont Àlvaro Siza, Eduardo Souto de Moura, Dominique Perrault, Oscar Tusquets, Karim Rashid, Gae Aulenti, Alessandro Mendini.

Les arrêts ont chacun leur identité architecturale propre et s’insèrent dans leur environnement. Un travail de réaménagement du système routier attenant et de son mobilier urbain fut confié aux architectes. Des environnements urbains laissés à l’abandon ont ainsi pu retrouver une vie nouvelle. De vastes espaces du tissu urbain se sont vus dotés d’une nouvelle identité sociale et d’une réhabilitation esthétique.

Sous la direction artistique d’Achille Bonito Oliva, plus de 150 œuvres d’art de 80 artistes contemporains ont été aménagées à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur des stations de métro. Ces œuvres sont conçues spécifiquement pour leur site : peintures, sculptures, mosaïques, céramiques, photos et installations dont la commande a été passée directement à des artistes internationalement connus.

Le projet de métro se présente également comme une impressionnante machine à remonter le temps. Les fouilles archéologiques auxquelles un budget de plus de 250 millions d’Euros a été accordé, ont résulté dans la découverte de l’ancien port de Parthenope (arrêt du Municipio), de navires longs de plus de 30 mètres et du lieu de réimplantation des jeux Olympiques au 1ier siècle (arrêt Duomo). Cette descente dans les strates archéologiques de la ville a mis à jour des bastions Angevins, et des restes aragonais et d’époques plus récentes.

La nouvelle station du Municipio se devait d’intégrer les fondations du Castelnuovo et les nombreuses archéologiques.

Principales interventions d’accessibilité :

La station du Municipio est dotée d’escaliers roulants et d’ascenseurs, de bandes podotactiles et de plans en relief pour les personnes aveugles et malvoyantes. Le numéro des étages est indiqué sur les boutons des ascenseurs en relief et en braille. La signalétique vocale est en italien et en anglais.

Situation géographique :

  • Naples, Italie

Description des installations :

Lorsque la station du Municipio de ligne 1 entre en service en 2015, l’ensemble des travaux n’est pas terminé. Les différentes découvertes archéologiques retardent les travaux et conduisent les architectes portugais Álvaro Siza et Eduardo Souto De Moura à intégrer les anciennes murailles dans la conception d’ensemble. Le vaste espace de circulation à l’intérieur de la station est conçu pour laisser voir ces découvertes exceptionnelles faites lors d’une des fouilles archéologiques les plus importantes des dix dernières années.

Les découvertes archéologiques comprennent la mise au jour du port de Neapolis qui se trouvait dans une petite baie longtemps enfouie sous la place du Municipio actuelle, ainsi que du fond de la mer, d’épaves et d’un grand chantier naval de l’époque augustéenne. Des restes d’habitations des époques helléniques et impériales ont été trouvés sur la côte. Parmi les découvertes figurent des restes d’édifices angevins construits à la fin du 13e siècle (en même temps que le Castelnuovo), les fortifications extérieures du château construit sous le roi Alphonse V d’Aragon et les Vice-Rois espagnols avec leurs tours du Solo et de l’Incoronata; cette dernière étant visible aujourd’hui depuis le palier de la ligne 1 dans la station de métro.

Une fois achevée, la station du Municipio sera un important nœud de transport qui desservira les lignes 1 et 6. Le passage souterrain servira également de passage piéton entre le port et la vielle ville. Les travaux de planification urbaine au niveau du sol vont, quant à eux, valoriser l’axe entre la station maritime devant la Mairie et la colline de San Martino. A cette fin, la Fontaine de Neptune, un grand groupe marbre édifié au 16e siècle par Domenico Fontana, Michelangelo Naccherino et Pietro Bernini et plus tard par Cosimo Fanzag, fut démontée et reconstruite devant le Palais San Giacomo qui abrite la Mairie.

Auteur de l’article:

Maria Corbi, Gestione Patrimonio Artistico, ANM Azienda Napoletana Mobilità spa.

Sources:

Cet article s’appuie sur plusieurs sources d’information et a été rédigé grâce au soutien de plusieurs personnes. Nous tenons à remercier Isabella Tiziana Steffan, du Studio Steffan – Progettazione e Ricerca de Milan pour avoir suggéré la possibilité d’un article et pour son conseil lors de la rédaction.

Crédit photographique : Archives photographiques de la ANM Azienda Napoletana Mobilità spa.

Enjeux du site

Valeur patrimoniale et attractivité

L’objectif du projet de « métro de l’art » de Naples lancé par la municipalité était de rendre plus attractif les transports publics, d’optimiser l’usage de grandes zones de la ville et de mettre l’art contemporain et l’archéologie à la portée de chacun. C’est l’un des exemples les plus intéressants de musée décentralisé et distribué dans la ville. Le métro s’est fait musée pour être apprécié par les usagers en mouvement (150000 passagers par jour). Cette stratégie sert l’amélioration de la qualité de la vie physique, psychique et culturelle des citoyens, et vise à rendre plus agréable l’usage des transports publics.

Le métro de Naples vise d’un côté la fonctionnalité: garantir aux habitants l’accès à un système de transports à proximité de leur domicile et rendre plus accessibles les principaux sites touristiques. De l’autre, il s’agit de faire du métro lui-même un lieu de visites touristiques. Son patrimoine artistique est considérable – la valeurs des œuvres d’art et de détails architecturaux qu’il recèle est estimée à 58 millions d’Euros. 176000 des 1,33 million de touristes qui empruntent chaque jour le métro chaque le visitent pour sa valeur artistique et patrimoniale. Quelques des œuvres phares ainsi que le parc archéologique de la station du Municipio restent à être mises en place. Le compagnie des transports publics de Naples a créé des initiatives de médiation et d’éducation artistique. Le service éducatif du Metro Art ANM (Acienda Napoletana Mobilità) promeut ce riche patrimoine artistique, architectural et archéologique au moyen de visites guidées, d’activités scolaires, d’ateliers pour enfants et de visites privées. Des musées, écoles et universités de la ville prennent part dans l’organisation d’activités pour étudiants, citoyens et touristes. Cette rencontre citoyenne avec l’art et la culture peut s’avérer un facteur important dans la perception qu’ont les usagers de leur satisfaction et bien-être grâce à la médiation. La médiation sert d’outil pour tisser des liens entre citoyens et mener un dialogue avec eux; elle implique tout un contexte urbain.

Problèmes d’accessibilité avant travaux

  • La desserte des différents niveaux des stations du métro de Naples.

Stratégie d’intervention

Les stations du métro de Naples sont un exemple de l’accessibilité conçue comme partie intégrante de la qualité architecturale.

Le projet intègre les différents niveaux de la piazza del Municipio. Au niveau du sol, il crée une perspective qui commence devant le Palais San Giacomo. Sous le sol, il relie la station avec la zone archéologique à ciel ouvert et la mer.

Les architectes Siza et Soto do Moura ont fait du constant dialogue entre architecture contemporaine et les édifices pré-existants sauvegardés à l’intérieur de la station le fil rouge de leur projet aux lignes claires et soucieux de la qualité des finitions des pierres de lave et du plâtre blanc.

Projet

Une accessibilité globale

Le métro vise l’amélioration de la mobilité de tous les citoyens, y compris celle des personnes à mobilité réduite. Les stratégies et outils d’accessibilité fait ainsi partie intégrante du projet architectural.

Tous les niveaux de la station du Municipio sont accessibles par des escaliers roulants et des ascenseurs. Les ascenseurs sont dotés de boutons qui indiquent le numéro des étages en braille et en lettres en relief. Chaque niveau est doté de bandes podotactiles et de plans en relief pour garantir un accès facile et en toute sécurité aux trains et aux sorties.

Station di Municipio : ascenseur (extérieur – niveau 1)
Station di Municipio : ascenseur (extérieur – niveau 1)

Les mains courantes des escaliers sont dotées de braille et d’informations en lettres en relief.

Signalétique tactile sur la main courante.
Signalétique tactile sur la main courante.

Les matériaux telle la gomme offrent des possibilités de jouer sur des forts contrastes de tons. Ainsi les bandes podotactiles servent-elles d’aide à la mobilité très utile aux personnes handicapées visuelles dont le pourcentage d’acuité visuelle est très bas. Elles sont ici également des éléments architecturaux et décoratifs qui participent à la conception d’ensemble.

Station du Municipio : ancienne tour de l’Incoronata (XVIe siècle)
Station du Municipio : ancienne tour de l’Incoronata (XVIe siècle)

A l’extérieur, les bandes podotactiles conduisent jusque vers les routes. Des plans en reliefs sont installés à l’extérieur pour guider les usagers jusque vers l’entrée et la sortie.

Station du Municipo : plan en relief (extérieur)
Station du Municipo : plan en relief (extérieur)

Une « station-musée »

La station du Municipio à Naples est l’une des 11 stations du métro de l’art de la ligne 1 (qui relie Garibaldi à Piscinola). Cette initiative innovante de la municipalité de Naples conçoit une mobilité urbaine qui unit transport, architecture et archéologie. La beauté des stations du métro de l’art connaît un retentissement international. Elles sont aussi un exemple d’un dialogue réussi entre qualité architecturale et accessibilité. La conception de l’accessibilité a fait partie intégrante du projet, dès le début.

Station du Municipo : passage vers la Line 6 (simulation)
Station du Municipo : passage vers la Line 6 (simulation)

La station du Municipio se devait d’intégrer les découvertes archéologiques faites lors des fouilles, dont les fondations du Castelnuovo. Le projet intègre les différents niveaux de la Piazza del Municipio. Au niveau du sol, il valorise l’axe entre le Palais San Giacomo qui abrite la Mairie et la colline de San Martino. Sous le sol, il relie les espaces du métro avec la mer et la zone archéologique à ciel ouvert. Les architectes et ingénieurs ont collaboré pour intégrer, dès en amont du projet, stratégies et dispositifs d’accessibilité et style architectural. Le projet a été promu par la municipalité pour rendre plus accessible et attractive l’infrastructure des transports publics et ses environs, pour optimiser l’usage de grandes zones urbaines et mettre l’art contemporain et l’archéologie à la portée de chacun.

Acteurs et processus de projet

Acteurs

  • Client : COMUNE DI NAPOLI (City of Naples)
  • Maître d’ouvrage: Metropolitana di Napoli MN S.p.A.
  • Architects: Álvaro Siza Vieira, Eduardo Souto de Moura
  • Artist: Michal Rovner
  • Companies :
    ASTALDI SpA
    COSTRUIRE SpA
    GRUPPO ICM SpA
    MOCCIA IRME SpA
    VIANINI Lavori SpA
    COSTRUZIONI GDL Srl
    IMPRESA PIZZAROTTI SpA

Processus de projet

La MN (Metropolitana di Napoli) est maître d’ouvrage du projet lancé par la municipalité de Naples. L’accessibilité fait partie intégrante du projet dès le départ. L’accessibilité des métros est une obligation légale dictée par un ensemble de lois nationales et accentuée par un arrêté de la de la Cour de Cassation en 1971. L’office des normes UNI Ente Nazionale Italiano di Unificazione publie, en 2006, la norme UNI 11168-1 qui porte sur l’accessibilité des transports publics de masse et les critères de conception pour métros.

Photographies et plans