The Civic Museums of Palazzo Buonaccorsi and the Carriage Museum

Musei Civici di Palazzo Buonaccorsi, Macerata

General overview

After being damaged by the 1997 earthquake, Palazzo Buonaccorsi is being restored and adapted to house Macerata’s Museum of Ancient Art,  Museum of Modern Art and Coach Museum. Physical accessibility of this challenging building was an integral part of the restoration programme. At the same time, the museums are taking on a social role, promoting active citizenship, inter-cultural dialogue and participation. New exhibitions and museum learning foster audience engagement, including for people with a disability.

Principal access interventions :

  1. Mobility (lift and platform lifts)
  2. Multisensorial experience and inclusive communication
  3. Interaction with the community

Accessibility for visitors with a disability is an integral part of a development towards a participatory museum, thriving to create inclusion, community heritage and intercultural dialogue.

Location :

  • Macerata, Marche, Italy

Description :

Palazzo Buonaccorsi is a C18 palace hosting the Carriage Museum, the Ancient Art Gallery and the Modern Art Gallery. Restored after the 1997 earthquake, the building was adapted to host the city’s collections and to use them as a “social aggregator”.

The Palace is owned by the local authority of Macerata, which has a population of approximatively 43 000.

Find out more :

Photo credits: Photographic archive of the Civic Museums of Macerata

Authors of the article:

  • Giuliana Pascucci, Conservatore dei Musei Civici del Palazzo Buonaccorsi, Macerata
  • Michele Giuli
  • Maria Teresa La Matina
  • Isabella Tiziana Steffan, Studio Steffan – Progettazione e Ricerca, Milano

Challenges

Heritage significance and attractiveness

Palazzo Buonaccorsi is one of the most beautiful historic palaces in the region and was designed by Giovan Battista Contini, a disciple of Bernini. Its restoration and consolidation after the 1997 earthquake played an important role in the recovery of cultural heritage in the Marche. The palace had all its decorations, wooden windows and doors, ceiling coffers, statues in the courtyard and panoramic terrace fully restored. 

Close to the Cathedral and Piazza della Libertà – the square with the Lauro Rossi Theatre, the Civic Tower and the Council Hall Building; it is one of the gems of the historic city centre of Macerata.

The Museums have approx 20 000 visitors a year on site, of whom aprons two thirds are from Italy and 30 000 online.

Fig 1. The Carriage Museum in Palazzo Buonaccorsi (2009).
Fig 1. The Carriage Museum in Palazzo Buonaccorsi (2009).
Fig. 2 The Carriage Museum in the Mozzi Borgetti Library (1962).
Fig. 2 The Carriage Museum in the Mozzi Borgetti Library (1962).

Access challenges

  • the Carriage Museumhosted from 1962-2002 at the Mozzi Borgetti Library (2) wasn’t accessible for people with disabilities. At Palazzo Buonaccorsi there was no elevator
  • accessibility to the collections and their contents was poor for visually impaired people and deaf people
  • exhibition concepts were dated

Approach

The restoration of Palazzo Buonaccorsi played a big role in the valorisation of cultural heritage in the Marche after the 1997 earthquake. The museums adopted the Faro Convention on the Value of Cultural Heritage for Society, signed by Italy in 2013. This emphasises the important aspects of heritage as they relate to human rights and democracy. It promotes a wider understanding of heritage and its relationship to communities and society.

Thus, the museum commits to being an inclusive museum. It works hard to build a new cultural identity supporting participation, intercultural dialogue, social cohesion and active citizenship. The municipal collection aims to create a “community heritage” and to involve public institutions, citizens and associations in the promotion of cultural heritage and of the local area.

The museum seeks to be a “social aggregator” playing an active role in the community. It has significant potential to contribute to knowledge of one self’s social and cultural identities. In such an approach, the institutional functions such as acquisition, conservation, research and exhibitions become blended.

The Museum adopts a narrative approach to museum learning and community engagement.

Commitment to the accessibility of the building and to collections for people with a disability is an integral part of this organisational transformation.

Project

Remarkable accessibility and inclusive design features of the project

Accessibility and mobility

Ingress

The Palace can be reached via the main visitor entrance in Via Don Minzoni 24 (fig.3), though this involves ramp, stairlift and elevator. There is also facilitated access in Via Armaroli 2 (fig. 4).

Fig. 5 Entrance in don Minzoni, 24
Fig. 3 Entrance in don Minzoni, 24
Fig. 4 Facilitated ac-cess for people with physical disability, via Armaroli 2
Fig. 4 Facilitated ac-cess for people with physical disability, via Armaroli 2

Vertical circulation and egress

The building consists of a basement floor and 5 floors. An elevator has been added to the modern stair case space. The moderate historic importance of that space allowed minor changes. The elevator reaches the coffeehouse (+8.85 m), offering a safe escape. From this landing, disabled people can access the 1st and the 2nd floor of the Palace with the help of two stairlifts. Another stairlift helps people reach the 3rd floor.

Fig.5. Civic Museums of Palazzo Buonaccorsi – Carriage Museum. Ground floor
Fig.5. Civic Museums of Palazzo Buonaccorsi – Carriage Museum. Ground floor
Fig.6. Carriage Museum. Lower ground floor
Fig.6. Carriage Museum. Lower ground floor

Multisensorial Experience

The multisensorial experience involves features for all visitors including children, for blind and partially sighted people and for deaf people.

Sound features include the sound of horses walking on the wooden floor in the entrance of the 18th century Palace, recalling the daily coming and going of the ancient Buonaccorsi carriages.

Two tactile models were made of one carriage : a small volumetric model with Braille captions enables a fast grasp of the overall shape; a 1:3 scale model reveals details and is accompanied with a braille leaflet. The models are an introduction to a tactile itinerary for the public, that offers a more complete vision and understanding of the carriage collection. Staff is trained to guide through a tactile visit.

Fig.7.Tactile tour with partially sighted and blind people, guided by a trained museum operator
Fig.7.Tactile tour with partially sighted and blind people, guided by a trained museum operator

Tablets available for all visitors offer detailed multi-lingual information on the carriages on show: their body, mechanics, history and evolution. The tablets get activated when lifted in facilitated mode. Three carriages are audio-described. There are two video clips in Italian Sign Language (LIS), of which one informs on the city’s cultural offer.

Fig.8.Carriage Museum – tactile itineraries for children, with a surprise chest to play with the coachman’s clothes
Fig.8.Carriage Museum – tactile itineraries for children, with a surprise chest to play with the coachman’s clothes

Community interaction

The project Museo dell’altro (Museum of the other) builds on geographical proximity to foster “good cultural neighbourhood” with the nearby CAS – Centro di Ascolto e di Prima Accoglienzaa centre which welcomes people in need, particularly immigrants. “Mani che parlano” (Speaking Hands) was a collaborative project which brought students from the High School of Arts (lyceum) and asylum seekers together to foster inter-cultural dialogue and cultural integration through making sculptures.

The Museum collaborates with many kinds of school, centres for people with physical or mental disability and with people with Alzheimer.

Fig.9. The guests of a centre for people with Alzheimer visits the Carriage Museum
Fig.9. The guests of a centre for people with Alzheimer visits the Carriage Museum

Players and processes

Players

  • Client: Comune Macerata
  • Architects: Museum Engineering srl, arch. Luca Schiavoni
  • Collaborators: Carlo Chiatti, Valeria Venturini, Giorgio Bartocci, Massimo Carletti
  • Service Provider : Gruppo Bodino Spa
  • Year of the project’s realisation : 2008-2009
  • Cost: 500.000,00€
  • Area of intervention: 1000 mq

Processes

Physical accessibility

Palazzo Buonaccorsi is a highly complex C18 building that incorporates several pre-existing buildings (dated C15). The initial idea was rejected by the Superintendence of Ancona (chief town of the Marche region). It would have required the partial occupation of the vicolo Buonaccorsi lane with elevators and/or emergency stairs and flyovers. Instead, a minimally invasive solution was developed, approved by the Superintendence and the Firefighters. 

Museography

Museum Engineering srl, a society specialised in museology and museography worked hand in hand with the museum’s scientific division, sharing expertise and methodological knowledge gathered over more than two decades.

An engaging narrative exhibition concept was implemented with interactive videos, audio tracks historic images and traditional graphics that contextualise the carriages in their land, time and culture.

Multi-media tablets with wide ranging information on the carriages were developed, including for visually impaired people and deaf people, as an initiative within the regional network of museums Il Museo di tutti e per tutti (“A museum of and for all”) that pays great attention to accessible technologies.

Multisensory features were integrated into the museography. The Macerata section of the Italian Blind Union (Unione Italiana Ciechi) and the State Tactile Museum of Ancona Museo Omero advised on accessibility for visually impaired people.

Pictures and maps

Les musées civiques du Palazzo Buonaccorsi et le Musée de la Calèche

Musées civiques du Palazzo Buonaccorsi, Macerata

Présentation générale

Suite au tremblement de Terre de 1997, le Palais Buonaccorsi est restauré et réaménagé pour accueillir les musées d’art ancien, le Musée de la Calèche de la ville de Macerata. L’accessibilité physique faisait partie intégrante du programme de restauration et de valorisation de cet édifice complexe. Parallèlement, le musée poursuit son rôle social et promeut la citoyenneté active, le dialogue interculturel et la participation. Les nouvelles expositions et la médiation se veulent engageantes pour tous les publics et comprennent des dispositifs pour les visiteurs en situation de handicap sensoriel.

Principales interventions d’accessibilité :

  1. Circulations verticales (ascenseur et plateformes élévatrices)
  2. Expériences multisensorielles et communication inclusive
  3. Interaction avec la société civile

L’accessibilité pour les visiteurs en situation de handicap fait partie intégrante d’une évolution de l’institution vers un musée participatif qui promeut l’inclusion, le patrimoine de la communauté et le dialogue interculturel.

Situation géographique :

  • Macerata, Marche, Italie

Description des installations :

Le Palazzo Buonaccorsi date du 18e siècle et abrite le Musée d’Art Ancien, Le Musée d’Art Moderne et le Musée de la Calèche. Restauré après le tremblement de terre de 1997, l’édifice fut adapté pour accueillir les collections muséales de la ville, destinées à jouer un rôle de fédérateur social.

Le Palais appartient à la commune de Macerata, dont la population est de 43000 habitants.

Pour aller plus loin :

Crédit photographique : Archive photographique des musées civiques de Macerata.

Auteurs de l’ article:

  • Giuliana Pascucci, Conservateur des Musées civiques du Palazzo Buonaccorsi, Macerata
  • Michele Giuli
  • Maria Teresa La Matina
  • Isabella Tiziana Steffan, Studio Steffan – Projet et recherche, Milano

Traduction : Marcus Weisen.

Enjeux du site

Valeur patrimoniale et attractivité

Le Palazzo Buonaccorsi est l’un des plus beaux palais de la région et fut conçu par Giovan Battista Contini, un élève du Bernin. Sa restauration et sa stabilisation après le tremblement de terre de 1997, il joue un rôle important dans la récupération du patrimoine culturel des Marches. Les décorations, fenêtres et portes en bois, les plafonds, les sculptures dans la cour et la terrasse panoramique furent intégralement restaurées.

Situé à proximité de la cathédrale et de la Piazza della Libertà – entourée du théâtre Lauro Rossi, la Tour Civique et la Mairie – il est l’un des joyaux du centre historique de Macerata.

Le Musée accueillent approximativement 20 000 visiteurs par an, dont près de deux tiers d’Italie, et 30 000 en ligne.

Fig 1. Le Musée de la Calèche au Palazzo Buonaccorsi (2009).
Fig 1. Le Musée de la Calèche au Palazzo Buonaccorsi (2009).
Fig. 2 Le Musée de la Calèche à la bibliothèque Mozzi Borgetti Library (1962).
Fig. 2 Le Musée de la Calèche à la bibliothèque Mozzi Borgetti Library (1962).

Problèmes d’accessibilité avant les travaux

  • Le Musée de la Calèche, situé de 1962 à 2002 dans le bâtiment de la bibliothèque Mozzi Borgetti n’était pas accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite. Le Palazzo Buonaccorsi ne disposait pas d’ascenseur.
  • L’accès des personnes handicapées visuelles et des personnes sourdes aux contenus culturels était très limité.
  • La scénographie était à renouveler.

Stratégie d’intervention

La restauration du Palazzo Buonaccorsi joue un rôle important dans la valorisation du patrimoine culturel des Marches après le tremblement de terre de 1997. Ses musées ont adopté la Convention de Faro sur la valeur du patrimoine pour la société (2005), ratifiée par l’Italie en 2013. Celle-ci met en avant les aspects importants du patrimoine, dans son rapport aux droits de l’homme et à la démocratie. Elle défend une vision plus large du patrimoine et de ses relations avec les communautés et la société.

Ainsi, le musée s’engage à être un musée pour tous et s’efforce de promouvoir une nouvelle identité culturelle qui renforce la participation, le dialogue interculturel et la citoyenneté active. Le musée vise la création d’un patrimoine communautaire, impliquant les institutions publiques, les citoyens et les associations dans la promotion du patrimoine culturel et du territoire local.

Le musée entend être un “fédérateur social” qui participe activement à la vie de la communauté. Il possède un grand potentiel pour promouvoir la connaissance de soi et des identités sociales et culturelles qui nous façonnent. Dans une telle approche, les fonctions institutionnelles telles que l’acquisition d’artefacts, la conservation, la recherche et les expositions s’unifient.

Le musée a adopté une approche de médiation narrative dans ses expositions et ses collaborations hors les murs.

L’engagement pour l’accessibilité physique du palais et des contenus culturels pour les personnes   en situation de handicap fait partie intégrante de la transformation organisationnelle du musée.

Projet

Accessibilité et mobilité

Accès

L’entrée principale du musée Via Don Minzoni 24 (fig.3) a été rendue accessible, moyennant toutefois l’usage d’une rampe, d’un monte-escalier et d’un ascenseur. Une entrée accessible plus confortable se trouve Via Armaroli 2 (fig. 4).

Fig. 5 Entrée via Don Minzoni, 24
Fig. 3 Entrée via Don Minzoni, 24
Fig. 4 Accès facilité via Armaroli
Fig. 4 Accès facilité via Armaroli

Circulation verticale and sortie

L’édifice comprend un sous-sol et cinq étages. Un ascenseur a été installé dans la cage d’escalier moderne, d’un intérêt patrimonial modeste. L’ascenseur donne accès au café (+8.85 m) et une issue de secours sûre. Sur ce niveau, les personnes à mobilité réduite peuvent emprunter deux monte-escaliers.

Fig.5. Musées Civiques du Palazzo Buonaccorsi – Musée de la Calèch. Rez-de-chaussée
Fig.5. Musées Civiques du Palazzo Buonaccorsi – Musée de la Calèch. Rez-de-chaussée
Fig.6. Musée de la Calèche. Rez-de-chaussée inférieur
Fig.6. Musée de la Calèche. Rez-de-chaussée inférieur

Expérience multisensorielle

L’expérience multisensorielle du Musée de la Calèche comprend des dispositifs pour tous les visiteurs, y compris les enfants, les personnes handicapées visuelles et les personnes sourdes.

Le bruit de chevaux trottant sur le sol en bois dans l’entrée du Palais Buonaccorsi accueille les visiteurs, un rappel du va-et-vient quotidien de calèches au 18ème siècle.

Deux maquettes tactiles d’une calèche on été produites : une petite maquette volumétrique avec un cartel en braille permet la saisie rapide de sa forme, tandis qu’une maquette à échelle 1:3, accompagnée d’une brochure en braille révèle les détails de la calèche. Les maquettes inaugurent un parcours pour les visiteurs et rendent plus facile une saisie globale de la collection de calèches. Le personnel est formé pour guider des visites tactiles.

Fig.7.Pacours tactile pour personnes handicapées visuelles en visite guidée avec un guide formé.
Fig.7.Pacours tactile pour personnes handicapées visuelles en visite guidée avec un guide formé.

Des tablettes multi-média proposent de nombreuses informations en plusieurs langues sur les calèches : carrosserie, mécanique, histoire. Elles sont accessibles aux personnes en situation de handicap visuel. Les contenus comprennent trois audio-descriptions de calèches et deux présentations en langue des signes italienne (LIS), dont l’une renseigne sur l’offre culturelle de Macerata.

Fig.8. Musée de la Calèche – parcours tactile pour enfants, avec une mallette surprise qui contient l’habit du cocher à essayer.
Fig.8. Musée de la Calèche – parcours tactile pour enfants, avec une mallette surprise qui contient l’habit du cocher à essayer.

Le musée hors les murs

Le projet Museo dell’altro (Le Musée de l’autre) prend son point de départ dans la proximité géographique pour promouvoir “un bon voisinage culturel” avec le CAS – Centro di Ascolto e di Prima Accoglienza qui accueille des personnes en difficulté, dont de nombreux immigrants. Le projet “Mani che parlano” (Mains qui parlent) était une collaboration entre des étudiants du lycée d’art et des demandeurs d’asile pour promouvoir le dialogue interculturel et l’intégration culturelle par le biais d’un atelier de sculpture.

Le musée collabore avec différents types d’école, des centres pour personnes en situation de handicap physique ou mental et avec des personnes atteintes de la maladie d’Alzheimer.

Fig.9. Les hôtes d’un centre pour personnes atteintes de la maladie d’Alzheimer en visite au Musée de la Calèche.
Fig.9. Les hôtes d’un centre pour personnes atteintes de la maladie d’Alzheimer en visite au Musée de la Calèche.

Acteurs et processus de projet

Acteurs

  • Maîtrise d’ouvrage : commune de Macerata
  • Architectes : Museum Engineering srl, arch. Luca Schiavoni
  • Collaborateurs : Carlo Chiatti, Valeria Venturini, Giorgio Bartocci, Massimo Carletti
  • Durée des travaux : 2008-2009
  • Coût: 500 000€
  • Prestataire de services : Gruppo Bodino Spa
  • Surface : 1000 mètres carrés

Processus de projet

Accessibilité physique

Le Palazzo Buonaccorsi est un édifice très complexe du 18ème siècle qui intègre plusieurs bâtiments antérieurs du 15ème siècle. La proposition initiale fut rejetée par l’administration de la région des Marches, car elle aurait nécessité une occupation partielle de la ruelle vicolo Buonaccorsi par des ascenseurs et/ou des escaliers de secours et une passerelle. Une solution peu invasive a obtenu l’aval de l’administration et des pompiers.

Muséographie

Une collaboration étroite s’est développée entre le Museum Engineering srl, une entreprise spécialisée dans la muséologie et la muséographie et le département scientifique du musée qui a aboutie une mise en commun de l’expertise et des savoir-faire établis sur une vingtaine d’années.

Un concept muséographique reposant sur une approche narrative fut réalisé. ce concept s’appuie sur dispositifs de vidéos interactives, d’audio-guides, d’images anciennes et de cartels traditionnels qui situent les calèches dans leur contexte régional, historique et culturel.

Des tablettes multi-média contenant de nombreuses présentations sont disponibles, y compris pour les personnes en situation de handicap visuels et les personnes sourdes. L’initiative participe à celles du réseau régional de musées Il Museo di tutti e per tutti (“Le musée de et pour tous”), à l’affût de technologies accessibles.

Des dispositifs multisensoriels furent créés en collaboration avec l’Union Italienne des Aveugles (Unione Italiana Ciechi) de Macerata et le musée tactile d’état Museo Omero à Ancona (également dans les Marches).

Photographies et plans